Spring Cleaning: Mind, Body and Spirit

 

Spring Cleaning: Mind, Body and Soul

 

 

The Season of Spring is here!  So often that entails clearing and cleaning those routine things, or even perhaps those issues we’ve been avoiding.

My personal cleaning and clearing began with me taking a hard look and evaluating my physical self.  For much of my life I have ignored the signs and messages my body has given me and chose to push forward, masking these needs and instead traveling to an etheric playground where things like pain and suffering do not exist.

As I took inventory of the false beliefs I’d come to instill within my core self, I began to put the puzzle pieces together.  So much of my ideals and underlying struggle still remained in lessons I was taught as a child.

My mother was, and still very much remains, what I like to lovingly call a pill whore.  Yes, I know that sounds cold and callous, but I deal with this with my sarcasm.  It’s a tool I use quite frequently.  When I would have a headache, I was given a pill to cure it.  When I had to have my first gynecological exam at the age of 12, I was given a valium to deal with it.  When I had menstrual cramps at 13, codeine became my best friend.

I was taught that whenever you received a prescription medication, make sure to refill it, even if you didn’t really need it, because chances are you’d be sick again in the near future, or someone in the family would be, and we would need that medicine.  I began doling out Mom’s meds to her by the time I was six, which was a constant combination of uppers, downers, pain killers and so forth.  Drugs were plain and simple, a way of life.  This is how you dealt with things.

Fast forward to present day and I find myself plagued with symptoms of low energy level, headaches, heart palpitations, hair loss, inflammation, low metabolism, and achiness over my entire body.  Regular medication is not working.  I intuitively know my thyroid is out of balance, even though I am on a natural medication to assist this problem.  My MD feels I fall within the “normal range” of things, and that my medication does not need to be increased.

Clarification – I’ve never been normal.  Let’s just make that clear.

So, for once, I decided to LISTEN to my body.  I allowed myself to feel all the different things that didn’t feel right.  I didn’t take a pill or an Advil to get me through it.  I just sat with the feelings, searching for emotional sensations and reactions.

Through this process, I knew I needed to do something, and something drastic to try and shock my system back into balance.  I looked at my poor diet and knew it needed to start there.  So I began to go cold turkey – no more gluten, dairy, sugar or caffeine.  The first few days were a complete blur, as I moved through the detox symptoms.  It wasn’t easy and sure was not pretty.

But after a week, I began to notice something.  My joints weren’t hurting.  My face wasn’t puffy, the swelling in my legs and feet had vanished and quite interestingly enough, I did not have the recurrent headaches.  I began exercising daily, moving my body and increasing my water intake.

I also rediscovered the wonderful gift of daily meditation.  Each morning, I would take quiet time for me and go into a healing trance, calling in my Spiritual Support Team and asking for their assistance in clearing away that which I needed to let go of.  I would concentrate on bringing in a higher vibration to repair damage caused within the body and then I would fill the void with light.

Then began another part of the clearing.

I opened up my medicine cabinet one morning and saw the truth staring back at me.  Here were bottles and bottles of unused prescription drugs I was no longer taking.  I opened drawers and found more and more bottles – my “just in case” stash that I’d accumulated from various aches and pains.  Some had never even been used or opened, because I refused to take them.  I began the process of removing all the drugs from my stash, and realized I was building a large mound of prescription bottles.  By the time I’d cleaned out my drawers, I had 32 prescriptions.  These were an accumulation over the last four years, from when my health had various ups and downs.

I was shocked when I saw the pile of bottles.  They had been hidden inside my drawers and medicine cabinet, hardly ever seeing the light of day, just like so many of the aches and pains I had stored in my body.

I correctly disposed of the meds, and thought about this clearing process.  By trashing these pills I’d been hanging onto because of a pattern I’d acquired since childhood, I let go of all that stagnant energy.   I realized that when I listen to my body when it is trying to tell me something, I  can usually figure out what it is I need to do.  Most times it’s an easy fix, some deep breathing, a glass of water, stretching, a walk or maybe I need to express something I’ve been holding back.  I am finally really grasping the lesson of self-coping and being present.

I understand that prescription medications have their place in this world, and they have saved countless lives.  But I also believe they are harshly overused and severely abused within our society.  There is never a magic button to push or a magic pill to swallow that makes everything better.

Finally, at the ripe old age of 44, I am learning to be comfortable in my own skin.  I am listening to my body now as much as I do to my spirit.  For me, that is a huge change and one that I am deeply embracing on every level.

It’s a beautiful gift when we can appreciate the wonder and blessings that exist right inside us. They’ve always been there.  Sometimes we just ignore them or perhaps were never shown how to find them in the first place.

It’s never too late to start exploring….go ahead.  Have fun with it!

I am looking forward to continuing on in the blessed energy of springtime, holding onto the vibrations of rebirth and resurrection.

 

Angel Blessings to you,

Danielle

Check out my Facebook Page

Find my on Twitter

See What’s New on my Website

3 comments on “Spring Cleaning: Mind, Body and Spirit

  1. Good for you Danielle. I know it is hard to let go of our physical attachments…..it certainly is for me. Fortunately at my age I enjoy pretty good health and I basically have no aches or major issues. However, I know I can be a little more disciplined with what I put in my body. Cheese is a hard one for me. Keep up the good work!

  2. Funny, it took me about 4 attempts to read this post, but I knew it was important for me to do so. I am very distracted at the moment and my body is suffering for it, manifesting in a serious case of sciatica. I don’t want medication for it, but so far I am not making time to communicate with my body and work out what I actually need to do. Time for a major spring clean of the self I think ; )

Leave a Reply

