Don’t Worry…..Be Happy !

smiling_cat

Don’t Worry…..Be Happy !!

How much of our time and our lives is spent worrying?  If you had to guess, what would your estimate be?  25% ?  50% ?  90% ?  I would imagine that each person has their own worry scale, but what amount, if any, would you say is healthy?  Or is worrying a healthy habit to have?

The very act of worrying itself is not just time and energy spent.  It has an emotional and physical impact on your body.  Worry to the extreme can put us into the “fight or flight” response – racing our heart rate, making our breathing shallow, constricting our muscles and pushing blood flow to our vital organs.  On an emotional level it can take you into a depression and attract lower vibrations and feelings.

Quoting Wikepedia: Worry is thoughts, images and emotions of a negative nature in which mental attempts are made[vague] to avoid anticipated potential threats.  

Let’s note the words, “negative nature” and “anticipated potential threats.” In the definition above, that would mean that to worry is to expect a negative outcome.

The words, “thoughts, images and emotions” construct everything that our imaginations are based on; our vision, our feelings and the way that we think.

What if, instead of focusing on the negative outcome we fear will come to pass, we instead concentrate on a positive conclusion?  It takes just as much energy to think a negative thought as it does a positive one, but the impact on our lives is vastly different.

When our brains focus on positive energy, our thoughts travel out through the Universe and so begins the law of attraction – like attracts like.  Our brains also start to create “happy chemicals” in our bodies that make us feel euphoric and light.  This allows the lymph system to relax, our muscles to soften and our breathing to become deeper.  The conscious mind, while still intact and activated, merges on a deeper level with the areas of the brain that are fully aware that anything is possible (the sub-conscious and super-conscious parts of the mind).

I am reminded of an incident last week.  I awoke and was in bed, thinking about my day and what I had planned for later in the week.  My thoughts when to a person that I have a rocky relationship with.  I began thinking of the possibility of seeing her later in the week, which in turn led me to remember all the upheavals we’ve had through the course of our connection.  I rekindled all those feelings of betrayal, hurt and fear.  I was all caught up in the worry of how I would act and what I would do IF I saw her later in the week, when I heard a loud noise in my room.  It startled me and broke the pattern of my thoughts.  I heard the voice of one of my guides.  “Enough already!”

As I began to tune in to the energy of my guide, I sat up in bed.  I noticed that my head was hurting, my stomach was in knots and I just felt like crap.  Definitely not the way I wanted to start my morning!  I knew that this what not how I felt when I first woke up.

“Can’t you see how you’re affecting your body with your thoughts?  Your body was never designed to be under constant stress.  Can you feel what you’ve created?  How you’ve blocked the flow of your system’s natural rhythms?  What a state to put yourself in!  You are setting yourself up for a very low morning, Dear One.”

Wow.  I don’t know what felt worse…the headache or being disciplined by an Angel.  I think the latter.  And what she said hit me so hard.  The ailments I felt in my body were not caused by a virus or depletion.  They were caused by me.  I created them.  I quickly tuned in to see what would help in alleviating the physical symptoms.  After saying a prayer of gratitude for my body, drinking some water and doing some yoga I felt 100% better.

I should also add that the woman I was so worried about seeing later in the week never showed up at that meeting.  All that worry and stress over something that never even happened.  Isn’t that the way most of our worries pan out?  We worry over something that never even comes to pass.

I am still grateful, nonetheless, for I’ve learned a valuable lesson.  Don’t worry….be happy!  That’s my new mantra.

Leave a Reply

