Reactions in the Event of Death

grief

 

Reactions in the Event of Death

 

This subject is a very “touchy” one and one that I do not take for granted or lightly by any means.

Is there a “right” and a “wrong” way to react in the event of death?   I’ll let you be the judge of such things.  Each of us has our own coping mechanisms, our own way of dealing with the feelings that come up when there is a death that affects us.  The overwhelming waves of sadness, shock, grief, anger and rage can all be a part of reaction.

I write about this subject in the wake of the tragic school shootings in CT a few days ago.  My sincere condolences to all the families affected by this senseless tirade go out.  I can’t even begin to imagine the pain they must all be going through as well as those who witnessed this tragedy and all their friends and families connected to the event.

Within hours of the report of this violence, the debates began: gun control, mental health issues, political agendas, school safety, training our children for combat, etc. etc. etc.  Sensationalism reigned over our news feeds and misinformation was delivered about many key details.  More focus seemed to be on the person that caused this horrid act than was placed on the victims.  With all of our technology available, from video live feed to internet, have we lost our sensitivity?  Do we need to be privy to all details of how this event transpired, or can we trust our police officials to make the right decisions?  Can we instead focus on the innocent children and adults who are no longer with us?

With the deathing work that I do, I have had the privilege of being at the side of many who have passed.  I have also lost many who are very dear to me, most recently my father.  When my father passed, all I wanted was to be comforted.  I wanted to be held.  I wanted to numb and not feel anymore.  I wanted to remember every second I ever spent in the company of this remarkable man.  I didn’t want to hear about the things he could’ve done differently regarding his health.  I didn’t want to hear about cancer reforms or what political party was getting kickbacks from big pharma.  All I wanted, really, was to remember his love.  Had I experienced the negative reaction, I don’t know how I’d have been able to cope.

With the families of the loved ones I’ve assisted in transition, they also just wanted to honor and remember the person who’d passed.  Many times with the uncomfortable emotions that death can stir, people can react in a variety of ways; some helpful, and some not quite so helpful.  It is easy to push the sadness and grief away from the forefront and focus on other points to relieve the stress and anxiety.

Death is never easy, no matter which way it comes to pass.  Whether it is a known inevitability or a sudden act, it is never easy for the ones left in it’s stead.  Grieving is a vital part of the healing process.  May we assist those within this process by sending them prayer, good energy and compassion.

I received and email from a student of mine that was quite broken up by the school shootings.  She asked me how could God allow such terrible things to happen and what was the Angel’s perspective.  I replied to her that I am far beyond the grasp of God’s divine understanding, but that I would bring forth what information came to me from the Angels.  This is what came through:

“Were you to know the the reasons as to why this tragedy happened, would it make the pain suffered any less? Would the grief sustained be shortened in any way?

This is the time Dear Ones, to step out of your continual logical mind thinking  and step fully and completely into your hearts. Embrace one another. Show love. Shine your light. 

To heal these deep wounds requires bonding together, leaning on one another and holding each other tightly. It is not the time for arguing and negativity. It is the time for remembrance of what has been lost and comforting those in need. 

Do not contemplate on things beyond your control or point blame. Center your energy instead on what is within your free will – Love; pure, simple, unconditional love. 

Love shared with another is the greatest gift on Earth. Send your love freely to those who lost their lives and to their loved ones.”

I believe these statements hold true to all instances of death, and I am grateful for this enlightenment.

May we share the greatest gift of Love with each other in all times.

Angel Blessings to you all,

Danielle

5 comments on “Reactions in the Event of Death

  1. Well said, Danielle! This reminded me of how I felt when I told an acquaintance of my son’s suicide. She initially offered condolences, and then angrily burst out “I think suicide is very selfish!” I felt quite defensive towards my son and did not say much at the time; however I have considered letting her know that it was not at all comforting. (If I see her again I will tell her this.)
    I feel so much compassion for all those who lost loved ones in the Connecticut shootings and hope they can forgive and heal.

  2. What can I say. This is so welll said I can not add To it. I only feel compassion for all concerned. The emotion is so great and yet the debate continues around the World. I feel the anguise of the parents and the community and I can only send love to them all.

Leave a Reply

