The Duality of the Path of a Healer ~

 

The Duality of the Path of a Healer

There are many views of the role of, “Healer.”  Some take this as being a farce in itself, while others revere the role and place said healer upon a pedestal.   I suppose what is most important is how a healer defines their own role upon the planet and within society.

I took on this role many moons ago when I was a small child and began to sense energy and spirits.  I did this on a conscious and subconscious level, though I did not publicly come forward as claiming myself as a healer till much later in life when I began working through massage school.  Massage school opened a whole new understanding for me of what I’d been experiencing my whole life as I stepped into the remembrance of energy work, Reiki and Native American Medicine.

To be called a Healer, to me, is to of service to Spirit.  It is to bring forward information and light that the person you are assisting most likely will not be able to perceive on their own.  Free will is ALWAYS respected and bottom line is, a person is ready to let go of the pain or they are not.  I would never, ever step forward and claim that I could heal anyone.  My intention is very far from that.  I work and teach and empower those I work with to heal themselves, for this is the first level where healing begins, isn’t it?  I like to use the analogy of having a broken arm.  If I break my arm and go to a doctor to have it set and casted it should heal, right?  Most likely it will, IF YOU BELIEVE IT TO BE SO.  If you are ready to heal it will happen.  If you need to hold onto the experience for further learning, then it will not heal.

I sit back and watch the judgment of those who are called healers – Wayne Dyer, Louise Hay, just to name some of the more famous ones that have come up recently within the last few years.  I watch as people criticize them for experiencing disease within their physical selves.  How could one who claims to be a healer need healing themselves?  How, if a teacher and healer is doing “their work” could they become ill?  And here is where the duality of the role of healer comes through.

Healers are human.  I repeat: Healers are human!!  They have and walk a human experience just like everyone else on the planet does.  They have families, bills, stresses, do laundry and take care of a million other tasks, just like other people.  It is a fine balance to maintain balance as human/healer.  You must allow yourself the feelings and experiences that this planet offers – the hurt, the joy, the stress, the limitations, the abundance, etc for with each emotion and mastery, you learn – just like everyone else.  However, a healer, because of their life of service, will place the knowledge gained from the lesson in their tool kit and take out the wisdom to share when need be, to assist another human being headed along the same path.

Many healers are transparent.  They share their highs and lows openly with the world.  Their vulnerability becomes their strength.  I see this so clearly in people like Louise Hay and Wayne Dyer.  And lets be honest.  If you wanted to cure yourself from a disease like cancer, who’s input would you want on the subject?  Someone who has dealt with it?  OR someone who has read about possible cures?

I can’t tell you the anger that set in with me when my dear friend and brother, Michael Bradley, contracted cancer.  I received so many emails from people across the world asking me how someone so powerful and so of the light could allow such a thing to happen to him.  I became defensive and wanted to lash out at anyone who would judge someone, especially my dear brother, so harshly.  But as I sat with the emails, and I allowed my heart to open, I could see that these people were only acting on the knowledge they had, they were only expressing their own experience.  It gave me a wonderful opportunity to turn my anger into unconditional love, as my dear brother so lovingly has taught me, as I expressed to them the duality of being a healer and human being.  The pain and struggle Michael experienced, because he was open about it, promoted healing on great levels to so many of us.  In my heart, as I reflect on his process, I see he was not only clearing his own “stuff” but he was also clearing pain for so many others who never had a voice to do so.  He cleared for those who came back from a war they never believed in.  He cleared for those who were told they were nothing and believed it.  He brought fellow healers together and created connection that spanned an entire planet…literally.

How on Earth could this experience be viewed as a weakness?  Not in my book, I’ll tell you!

Being a “healer” is a rewarding life – you see the light bulb turn on when people understand.  It is not because you caused it.  It is because you took the time to allow Spirit to move through you and speak – whether that is through your voice, your written words, the energy you channel through your hands, or the love you send through your heart.  In that essence, we are all healers, aren’t we?

Healing thoughts and blessings to you all,

Danielle

 

 

11 comments on “The Duality of the Path of a Healer ~

  1. Love this Danielle! Well said. I could feel Michael’s energy as soon as you started talking about him. Such love. Thanks for sharing your wisdom and experiences ❤

  2. Danielle, thank you for honoring Michael with your words of love and acceptance. I know he’s beaming all that love right back at ya!

    Your article reminds me of other well-knowns whose work “suffered” when their human frailties became apparent, people like Jim Fixx, the physical fitness advocate, who died of a heart attack on his daily run, and Adelle Davis, author of the “Eat Well” series of books who died of bone cancer. Their all too human struggles have been, and still are, used to discredit them.

    It’s really just more opportunity to choose, isn’t it? We can choose to put all our power in healers and then turn victim when they fail to cure us or fail to cure themselves. Or we can see these people (and each other) – as you have shown us – as human beings just like ourselves, who have something to offer if we’re open to it, even while walking their own path of exploration and healing. Just more opportunity to choose self-power or self-defeat, with the knowing that all who continue to choose self-defeat will, at some point – either in the short run or the long run – tire of that game and begin to take their power back. Kind of the lesson Steve and the group have been asking us to learn all along, idn’t it?

    Love you!

    Thank you once again for sharing deeply from that enormous heart of yours. ♥♡♥

    – karen

Leave a Reply

